Home / Student Life / Graduate Resources / Fellowships & Funding / Anthony J. Brazel Research Award

Anthony J. Brazel Research Award

The Anthony J. Brazel Research Award is a student paper competition for Geography PhD students in the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning (SGSUP). The award, established in 2007, recognizes outstanding work on graduate research and honors Professor Brazel's career and leadership of ASU's Department of Geography and School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning. The award will be presented at the school's annual awards event.


  • All Geography PhD students in the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning who have not yet advanced to candidacy. Prior recipients of the Brazel Research Award are not eligible.
  • Co-authored papers are acceptable providing the student is the lead author.
  • The paper does not need to be published or under review to be considered for the award.
  • Published papers must have appeared no earlier than the year previous to the award consideration (e.g., 2017 award and 2016 publication date).
  • Papers must be in a journal style and 5000 words or less.
  • Papers are due by 5:00 p.m. on March 1, 2021.


Application instructions:

Submit paper and unofficial ASU transcript as a single PDF file to sgsup.gradprograms@asu.edu no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, March 1. Please use the following naming convention for your application file: Award - last name, first name (ex. Brazel Research Award - Smith, John). When submitting, please copy and paste the name of your file into the subject line of your email.  

Only complete applications submitted in accordance with the instructions will be considered by the awards committee. It is the responsibility of each applicant to ensure their application is complete and formatted as required. And please remember - if the scholarship for which you’re applying requires a letter of support from a faculty member, please let them know as soon as possible to ensure they have time to complete it.

Award amount:

Awards up to $1000 will be given.


Award Recipients:



Matthew Conway, "Trends in Taxi Use and the Advent of Ridehailing, 1995–2017" (Matthew Wigginton Conway, Deborah Salon, and David A. King)

Ziqi Li, "Fast Geographically Weighted Regression (FastGWR): a scalable algorithm to investigate spatial process heterogeneity in millions of observations" (Ziqi Li, A. Stewart Fotheringham, Wenwen Li & Taylor Oshan)

Mary Wright, "Addressing the Implications of Carbon Dioxide as an Indoor Air Pollutant with Direct Effects on Human Health" (Mary K. Wright, David M. Hondula)


Jordan P. Smith, "Obesity in the Phoenix Metropolitan Area: An examination of conventional indicators through geographically weighted regression" (co-authors T. M. Oshan and A. S. Fotheringham)


Riley Andrade, "Seasonality and land cover characteristics drive phid dynamics in an arid city" (co-authors Heather L. Bateman and Yun Kang)

Yujia Zhang, "Optimizing green space locations to reduce daytime and nighttime urban heat island effects in Phoenix, Arizona" (co-authors Alan T. Murray and B.L. Turner II)


Taylor Oshan, “Geographically Weighted Regression and Multicollinearity: Dispelling the Myth” (co-author A. S. Fotheringham)

Melissa Wagner,
“Revisiting McHarg’s Land Use Suitability in the Wake of Hurricane Sandy: The Need for Urban Sustainability” (co-authors E. A. Wentz, and J. Merson)


Chelsea Patchen, “Urban nature as spectacle in a desert city” (co-author Kevin McHugh)

Chuyuan (Carter) Wang, “Spatio-temporal Modeling of the Urban Heat Island Effect in the Phoenix Metropolitan Area: Land Use Change Perspective” (co-author Soe Myint)


Kevin Kane, "A spatio-temporal view of historical growth in Phoenix, Arizona, USA"

Chao Fan, "A comparison of spatial autocorrelation indices and landscape metrics in measuring urban landscape fragmentation"


Laura Alvarez, "Erosion of sandbars by diurnal stage fluctuations in the Colorado River in Marble and Grand Canyons: Full-scale laboratory experiments"

Karina Benessaiah, "Carbon and livelihoods in post-Kyoto: Rationale for focusing on voluntary carbon markets"


Phillip Larson
Scott Warren


Matthew Pace


Der-Shiuan Lee


Ann Fletchall