Awards reception honors outstanding students

At this year’s Awards Reception, held May 2 at ASU’s Karsten Golf Course, students, faculty, alumni and friends of the geography and planning programs gathered to socialize, and to recognize students with outstanding accomplishments.
Students who received awards this year include:

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences awards
  • Dean’s Medal:  Jason Edmunds (May 2014), Daniel Fielder (December 2013)
  • Graduate Excellence Award:  Joanna Merson
School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning awards
  • Matthew G. Bailey Scholarship Award: John Connors, Emily Kaba
  • Balling Family GIS Fellowship: Lucille Aubrecht
  • Anthony J. Brazel Research Award:  Chao Fan, Kevin Kane     
  • Ray Henkel Scholarship Award:  Stephen Sifferman
  • Mary R. Kihl Leadership Award:  Daniel Barusch
  • John F. Lounsbury Student Travel Fellowship:  Xin Feng, Heather Fischer, Levi Wolf, Qunshan Zhao        
  • Melvin G. Marcus Memorial Fellowship: Scott Kelley     

The School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning awards all honor individuals who played a special role in ASU’s geography or urban planning programs.  For more information about the honorees, and names of previous award winners, see links here.