Association of American Geographers recognizes ASU faculty, student and alumnus

Several ASU geographers earned recognition at this year’s annual meeting of the Association of American Geographers:
Professor Wei Li was presented one of the association’s highest awards, the 2014 Ronald F. Abler Distinguished Service Honors.  The award recognizes Li’s leadership roles within the Association of American Geographers (AAG), the US Census Bureau, and other critical and prestigious international boards.  In addition, it acknowledges her contributions to the field of geography.  Read more about Wei Li’s research, teaching and service in this ASU News story about her selection for the Abler Honors.
The Spatial Analysis and Modeling (SAM) Specialty Group honored Professor Alan Murray with its Outstanding Service Award, one of two granted in 2014.  The award, which was created only last year, recognizes a currently active SAM member who has made substantial contributions to the group.
PhD student Joanna Merson won first place in the Cartography Specialty Group Student Paper Competition, for “A Web-Based Approach To Help Researchers Efficiently Identify Effective Space-Time Visualization Techniques.”  The paper presents guidelines for spatial-temporal data representation, with an aim of helping scientists and domain experts quickly find effective visualization techniques for their own data.
Juan Declet-Barreto, a 2006 graduate of the masters’ program in geography, received the 2014 Gilbert F. White Hazards Dissertation Award from the Hazards Specialty Group.  The title of Juan’s dissertation is “A Socio-Ecological Understanding of Extreme Heat Vulnerability in Maricopa County, Arizona.”  Juan received his Ph.D. in Environmental Social Sciences (in the School of Human Evolution & Social Change) in December 2013, and is currently a Climate and Health Research Fellow with the Natural Resources Defense Council in Washington DC.  Members of his supervisory committee were Sharon Harlan and Bob Bolin (co-chairs), Paul Hirt, and Christopher Boone.  Bob Bolin and Christopher Boone are affiliate faculty in the School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning. 
The 2014 Annual Meeting of the Association of American Geographers took place in Tampa, Florida, from April 8-12.